News Room
News Room

Main Site Content

Jean McCarty Selected to Serve on National Committee

Jean McCarty Selected to Serve on National Committee

posted: 07/15/2019

Jean McCarty has been appointed by the Home Innovation Research Labs of the National Association of Home Builders to serve on the committee charged with updating the ANSI Standard of Measurement for Single Family Residential Properties. McCarty is the Executive Director of the MS Coalition of Appraisers and longtime advocate for appraisal issues in Mississippi.

The ANSI Standard Z765-2013 is the nationally recognized standard for measuring residential properties by appraisers and lenders, yet this Standard was not developed for valuation purposes at its inception. The rules of the Standard many times contradict market reaction to the buying of residential properties, and this presents problems for appraisers when trying to apply the standard to valuation protocol. McCarty has lobbied the Home Innovation Research for years trying to get changes to this Standard that would address the many issues that residential appraisers have with its application.

The Committee for the 2020 update of this Standard will hold its first hearing in Washington D.C. sometime in late August. McCarty has been leading an ad hoc committee of MSCAPP members for over a year developing a white paper on the “Best Practices in the Application of the ANSI Standard Z765-2013". McCarty feels like this preliminary work on the white paper will work well in guiding her discussions during the committee meetings on the 2020 ANSI update. "I am very excited to be a part of this update on this ANSI Standard. It is important to do all I can to make this Standard appraisal protocol friendly, else appraisers will continue to be all over the board in their measurements of residential properties. There are too many unanswered questions to the Standard as it exists today and I really hope to make a difference for the appraisal community with this issue."

McCarty will be serving with the following committee members:

  • Chair: Wayne Foley, W. M. Foley Construction Corp.
  • Vice Chair: Kristopher Stenger, City of Winter Park, Florida


  • Victor Drozd, 2D Homes
  • Byron Earl Miller, BM Appraisals
  • Jim Nanni, Consumer Reports
  • Mark Freitag, Freitag Appraisals & Consulting
  • Jeremy Wright, J. Wright Building Company
  • Brian Juedes, Meritage Homes
  • Cesar Lujan, National Assn of Home Builders
  • Bryan Reynolds, Reynolds & Associates
  • Darwin Ernst, Tekboys